January 14, 2016

Illinois GOP Leaders endorse Presidential Candidates

By Mark Wachtler

January 14, 2016. Chicago. (ONN) The Illinois 2016 Primary Election is March 15th and Republican leaders across the state are endorsing their favorite Presidential candidates, and in many cases, are on the ballot themselves as delegates to the GOP national nominating convention. Below are the Presidential candidates and the Illinois Republican Party officials that are backing them.

GOP Presidential candidate Marco Rubio has the backing of much of the Illinois Republican Party establishment. Image courtesy of EpicTimes.com.


The Illinois Herald is an independent, grassroots news outlet. Without your support, we couldn't continue publishing. Any donation is appreciated.

There are 54 elected delegates from Illinois to the Republican Party national party nominating convention. Many of the candidates will have some or all of their 54 delegates on the March 15th Illinois GOP Primary ballot. The below list only includes party leaders.

Marco Rubio

State Senator Jim Oberweis (R-Sugar Grove)

State Senator Mike Connelly (R-Wheaton)

State Senator Jason Barickman (R-Bloomington)

State Senator Dale Righter (R-Mattoon)

State Senator Dan Duffy (R-Barrington)

State Rep Darin LaHood (R-Peoria)

State Rep Mike Fortner (R-West Chicago)

State Rep Tom Morrison (R-Palatine)

State Rep Terri Bryant (R-Mt. Vernon)

State Rep Keith Wheeler (R-North Aurora)

State Rep Sheri Jesiel (R-Gurnee)

State Rep Margo McDermed (R-Frankfort)

State Rep Barbara Wheeler (R-Crystal Lake)

State Rep CD Davidsmeyer (R-Jacksonville)

State Rep Michael Unes (R-East Peoria)

Darlene Ruscitti, Dupage party Chairwoman

Pastor Corey Brooks, Chicago minister

Al Salvi, former State Rep

Jeb Bush

US Rep Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)

State Rep Tom Cross (R-Oswego) House Minority Leader

Jim Edgar, former Illinois Governor

Ron Gidwitz, party donor

Tyrone Fahner, former Attorney General

Bob Schillerstrom, Illinois Tollway Chairman

Kirk Dillard, RTA Chairman


Ted Cruz

State Senator Chapin Rose (R-Champaign)

State Senator Tim Bivins (R-Dixon)

Yvonne Sencial Bolton, Plainfield Tax Collector

David E Smith, Illinois Family Action

C Steven Tucker, Illinois Tea Party


John Kasich

State Sen Christine Radogno (R-Lemont), Senate Minority Leader

Pat Brady, former party Chairman

The following Republican Presidential candidates will have delegates on the Illinois Primary ballot, but none are considered state party leaders:

Donald Trump

Ben Carson

Rand Paul

Chris Christie

Carli Fiorina

Rick Santorum

Some of the above information is compliments of the reporting of the Illinois Review.


Recent Illinois Herald articles:

Chicago worst in Taxes, Illinois worst in Growth

MoveOn.org endorses Kim Foxx for States Attorney

Illinois Libertarians endorse Pot Decriminalization Bill

The mad dash to conceal GMO Ingredients



Subscribe to the Illinois Herald. Only 1 weekly email in your inbox. It's FREE and you can unsubscribe at any time. Subscribe now!